Australian Open 2015 – Fixtures and Tickets

Christopher 17/09/2014 no comments »
Australian Open 2015 – Fixtures and Tickets

Australian Open 2015

No shows booked at the moment.

from £

Australian Open 2014

20.01.2014 – The first Tennis Grand Slam of the season is underway as the Australian Open reaches its fourth round with the majority of seeded players safely through. Current holder Novak Djokovic is through with his third round win over Denis Istomin setting up a fourth round match against Italian Fabio Fognini, so he is hot favourite to progress and eventually win the tournament for the fourth year on the trot.

Another of the favourites is Scotland’s double Grand Slam winner Andy Murray who meets Spaniard Feliciano Lopez in his third round match, and despite Murray’s unbeaten record against Lopez, it is sure to be a tough game for the Scot. World number one Rafael Nadal is another player who will be aiming to progress to the Fourth round, and he faces Frenchman Gael Monfils tomorrow, who is ranked number twenty-five in the World so it will be a good contest.

Roger Federer is also still in contention in Melbourne and is scheduled to play Russia’s Teymuraz Gabashvili in the Third round, in which he is sure to be the short favourite to get the win to claim his place in the next stage. The task for the Russian is a daunting one as Federer is a legend of the sport with his seventeen Grand Slam Titles so far in his career, but in sport anything can happen so it will be intriguing to watch.

One other player who will fancy his chances of winning the title, is Spaniard David Ferrer who had a good season last year with his first Grand Slam Final appearance in the French Open, so he will be confident of going one step further in Melbourne. There have been some shocks in the earlier rounds as former U.S. Open winner Juan Martin Del Potro was one casualty with his five set defeat to Spaniard Roberto Bautista-Agut unexpected. This shows that anything can happen in Tennis, so players such as France’s Jo-Wilfried Tsonga, the Czech Republic’s Tomas Berdych and Switzerland’s Stanislas Wawrinka amongst others, will all be optimistic of going all the way in Melbourne, so tickets are sure to be in high demand.

Australian Open 2013

The Australian Open will take place from January 14th – January 27th 2013 at the Rod Laver Arena in Melbourne, Australia.

The upcoming Australian Open sees the tennis tournament in its 101st outing and it is the first in the calendar year of four major Grand Slam tennis tournaments, followed by the French Open, Wimbledon and the US Open. The annual tournament will see thousands of tennis fans flock to the Australian city of Melbourne. The two week spectacle, played on clay courts, will begin on Monday 14th January 2013 with the final to be played on Sunday 27th January 2013. The competition will be hosted at the Melbourne Park sports complex for the 25th year running and the complex has undergone a $363 million redevelopment, due to be completed in 2015, which will provide a better experience for both players and fans alike throughout the tournament. Some of these new features include eight brand new clay courts, an elevated viewing platform over the major warm-up courts, an improved Fan Zone with interactive games and dedicated children’s courts with professional coaches so that kids are able to experience the game of tennis hands-on.

Last year’s competition saw Serbian and three-time winner Novak Djokovic triumph over Rafael Nadal of Spain in a thrilling game of tennis lasting the maximum five sets in the Men’s Singles whilst Victoria Azarenka swiftly disposed of the once-great Maria Sharapova 6-3, 6-0 in the Women’s Singles final. In the Men’s Doubles, Leander Paes and Radek Stepanek defeated American brothers Bob and Mike Bryan to prevent them winning their 12th Grand Slam doubles title. Svetlana Kuznetsova and Vera Zvonareva beat Italian duo Sara Errani and Roberta Vinci in a close game to win the Women’s Doubles Final. In the Mixed Doubles, Leander Paes featured again, partnering Elena Vesnina. However, they were overcome by Bethanie Mattek-Sands and Horia Tecau to narrowly miss out on the honours. This year’s tournament sees China’s Wu Di and Zhang Yuxuan enter as wild cards in the Men’s Singles and Women’s Singles respectively. Champion Novak Djokovic is favourite to retain his title in the Men’s Singles, with usual suspects Andy Murray, Roger Federer and last year’s runner-up Rafael Nadal close behind. Grand Slam powerhouse Serena Williams is favourite for the Women’s title, closely followed by 2012 winner Victoria Azarenka and runner-up Maria Sharapova. Whatever the outcome, it is safe to say that this will be a thrilling event!

No shows booked at the moment.

from £


There are two main courts; the Rod Laver Arena being the largest with a capacity of 15,000 people, and the Hisense Arena, with a capacity of 10,000. There are also three show courts, one of which is the Margaret Court Arena, named after the Australian tennis legend who has won more Grand Slam titles than any other player in history. The players in this year’s Australian Open will be competing for a share of a massive $30 million Australian Dollars in prize money, meaning the tournament has become the highest paying tennis tournament of all time.

Fatal error: Uncaught Error: Call to undefined function wpads() in /var/www/web28985227/html/gigasportUK/wp-content/themes/Exciter/single.php:108 Stack trace: #0 /var/www/web28985227/html/gigasportUK/wp-includes/template-loader.php(74): include() #1 /var/www/web28985227/html/gigasportUK/wp-blog-header.php(19): require_once('/var/www/web289...') #2 /var/www/web28985227/html/gigasportUK/index.php(17): require('/var/www/web289...') #3 {main} thrown in /var/www/web28985227/html/gigasportUK/wp-content/themes/Exciter/single.php on line 108