QBE Internationals: England 54-12 Fiji

12/11/2012 no comments »
QBE Internationals: England 54-12 Fiji

It was a great start for the Autumn Internationals and a great appetizer for what is to come. On Saturday, England faced Fiji in the opening game of the Autumn Internationals. Straight from the beginning, England showed where they wanted to go at Twickenham. Charlie Sharples and Toby Flood opened up the scoring in the first-half with 2 tries from Sharples and 18 points from Flood, extended the lead to 20-0 just before half-time. Before Tom Johnson, Ugo Monye and two from Manu Tuilagi added the final points in the second half. Also, Alex Goode impressed with his attacks.

Overall, it was a disappointing display of the Pacific Islanders. Api Naikatani and Akapusi Qera came close to the English Try-line, but failed to convert. Metuisela Talebula attempted two long range penalties, but both fell short. However, Fiji’s trouble worsened when Manu was sin-banned.

England dominated Fiji in every aspect of the game and the team of Stuart Lancaster should be well prepared for the matches ahead against South Africa (17 Nov), Australia (24 Nov) and New Zealand (1 Dec). For Lancaster, the victory over Fiji was the first victory since taken being appointed as manager.


England: 15-Alex Goode, 14-Charlie Sharples, 13-Manu Tuilagi, 12-Brad Barritt, 11-Ugo Monye, 10-Toby Flood, 9-Danny Care; 1-Joe Marler, 2-Tom Youngs, 3-Dan Cole, 4-Geoff Parling, 5-Tom Palmer, 6-Tom Johnson, 7-Chris Robshaw (captain), 8-Thomas Waldron.

Replacements: 16-David Paice (65 for T Youngs), 17-Dave Wilson (58 for Cole), 18-Mako Vunipola (46 for Marler), 19-Joe Launchbury (50 for Palmer), 20-Tom Wood (59 for Johnson), 21-Ben Youngs (58 for Care), 22-Owen Farrell (59 for Flood), 23-Mike Brown (59 for Monye)

Sin Bin: Care (10)

Fiji: 15-Simeli Koniferedi, 14-Samu Wara, 13-Vereniki Goneva, 12-Sireli Naqelevuki, 11-Watisoni Votu, 10-Metuisela Talebula, 9-Nicola Matawalu; 1-Ratu Makutu, 2-Viliame Veikoso, 3-Deacon Manu (captain), 4-Leone Nakawara, 5-Apisolame Ratuniyarawa, 6-Api Naikatani, 7-Malaki Ravulo, 8-Akapusi Qera.

Replacements: 16-Seremaia Naureure (47 for Veikoso), 17-Setafano Samoca (not used), 18-Manasa Saulo (67 for Manu), 19-Sekonaia Kalou (73 for Ratuniyarawa), 20-Iliesa Ratuva (52 for Naikatini), 21-Kelemedi Bola (not used), 22-Josh Matavesi (40 for Koniferedi), 23-Ravai Fatiaki (67 for Wara).

Sin Bin: Manu (29)

Fatal error: Uncaught Error: Call to undefined function wpads() in /var/www/web28985227/html/gigasportUK/wp-content/themes/Exciter/single.php:108 Stack trace: #0 /var/www/web28985227/html/gigasportUK/wp-includes/template-loader.php(74): include() #1 /var/www/web28985227/html/gigasportUK/wp-blog-header.php(19): require_once('/var/www/web289...') #2 /var/www/web28985227/html/gigasportUK/index.php(17): require('/var/www/web289...') #3 {main} thrown in /var/www/web28985227/html/gigasportUK/wp-content/themes/Exciter/single.php on line 108