One Day Internationals – Matches and Tickets

Edward 23/03/2013 no comments »
One Day Internationals – Matches and Tickets

The first NatWest ODI for England in the summer 2013 will kick off in late May against New Zealand at Lord’s. New Zealand will be the team that will try and halt a flying start for the hosts. In the first week of June, England will complete their ODI series’ at The Ageas Bowl and finally Trent Bridge. England then plays a series of test matches before playing Australia in 5 ODI matches beginning on the 6th September and finishing on the 16th September. These will be played at a variety of grounds including Headingly Carnegie, Old Trafford, Edgbaston, SWALEC Stadium and The Ageas Bowl.



England is ranked second in the official ICC rankings. They are regarded as one of the best One Day International sides in the world and are feared for their fierce and relentless bowling attack. Alistair Cook leads the team as captain, and Andy Flower leads the team as head coach. England fans are hopeful that England will be able to field a full team. Steven Finn is having a few injury troubles and is out at the moment from international cricket. England will need their pace bowlers in full form all of summer, the likes of James Anderson and Stuart Broad will most probably lead the attack, with Cook and Bell opening the batting. England will look to kick start their summer with wins against the Black Caps and then on to the series with Australia.

New Zealand

Ranked 8th in the world, New Zealand are always a danger in their One Day Internationals. Regarded as one of the big hitting sides in the world and should be well respected. Just as in test cricket, Brendan McCullum is a batsman to watch out for as he seems to be the big consistent hitter for New Zealand. Ross Taylor captains the side at the moment, and their coach is Mike Hesson. New Zealand will be looking to create an upset in the ODI’s which many will regard them as being outsiders to topple one of the best sides in the world as they head into the first test at Lord’s.


Australia are ranked 3rd in the world and are one of the most influential teams in the sport of cricket. Michael Clarke captains the side and the head coach is Mickey Arthur. Michael Clarke will be looking to continue his successes as captain and will want to avoid a whitewash like last time out against England. Since the last ODI between England and Australia, Brett Lee has retired from international cricket. He was massively influential in a young team, and will be missed in this forthcoming series. Hilfenhaus is a real danger with the ball and will be a threat to the top order batsmen.

No shows booked at the moment.

from £



Lords is labelled as the ‘Home of Cricket’ and is home to the England and Wales Cricket Board. It is owned by Marylebone Cricket Club and has a capacity of 28,000. It hosted its first test in July 1984 and its first One Day International in August 1972. It is regarded as one of the most prestigious places to play cricket in the world. Where Lords stands today, it was established in 1814 after two other sites were used between 1787 and 1814. Lords will host the first ODI of the series against New Zealand and also The Ashes 2013.

The Ageas Bowl

The Ageas Bowl, formerly known as the “Rose Bowl” the ground was established in 2001 by Hampshire Cricket Club. The ground hosted its very first One Day International in June 2003 and since then has hosted many different countries to take part in ODI’s. The capacity is 15,000, however with temporary seats it can hold up to 25,000 spectators. The Ageas Bowl will host the second ODI in the series against New Zealand and the final match in the series against Australia.

Trent Bridge

Trent Bridge is the home of Nottinghamshire Cricket Club. It was founded in the 1830’s without a specific date; however the first recorded match there was in 1938. The first ODI to be played there was in 1974 where England hosted Pakistan. The capacity is 17,500 spectators and is hosting only the one ODI during the New Zealand series, which will be a day/night match.

Headingly Carnegie

Headingly narrowly missed out on hosting a 2013 Ashes test, however will host the final test of the Black Caps’ tour of England in May 2013. Established in 1890, the first test was held in 1899 and has a capacity of 17,500. Headingly Carnegie is currently the home of Yorkshire Cricket Club. Headingly will host the first ODI of the Australia series.

Old Trafford

Old Trafford shares its name with Manchester United’s ground just down the road from the cricket club. Since it was established in 1857, the tenants have been Lancashire County Cricket Club. The first ODI to be held at the club was in 1972 when England met Australia, and its last was in 2012 after reopening after extensive redevelopments. Its capacity is now 25,000 spectators. It will host the second ODI during the Australia series.


Edgbaston Cricket Ground, or commonly known as the County Ground is currently occupied by Warwickshire County Cricket club. Edgbaston was established in 1882 and has a capacity of 25,000 spectators. Their first ODI to be held there was in 1972 when England played Australia once again. During this summer’s ODI series’, Edgbaston will host a day/night match in the third game against Australia.

SWALEC Stadium

The SWALEC Stadium is occupied by Glamorgan County Cricket Club. It hosted its first International ODI in 1999 when Australia played New Zealand. The capacity of the stadium is 15,643. This will be the 6th ODI to be played at the SWALEC Stadium and will host the penultimate match in the Australia series. The SWALEC will also host the ICC Champions Throphy.

Fatal error: Uncaught Error: Call to undefined function wpads() in /var/www/web28985227/html/gigasportUK/wp-content/themes/Exciter/single.php:108 Stack trace: #0 /var/www/web28985227/html/gigasportUK/wp-includes/template-loader.php(74): include() #1 /var/www/web28985227/html/gigasportUK/wp-blog-header.php(19): require_once('/var/www/web289...') #2 /var/www/web28985227/html/gigasportUK/index.php(17): require('/var/www/web289...') #3 {main} thrown in /var/www/web28985227/html/gigasportUK/wp-content/themes/Exciter/single.php on line 108