British F1 Grand Prix 2013 – Tickets

Edward 05/02/2013 no comments »

Photo: McLaren Mercedes

Currently held at Silverstone Circuit, near Silverstone village, it is one of the races that is held during the Formula One calendar month. Along with the Italian Grand Prix it is one of the oldest continuously staged Formula One Championships.


Last season in 2012, Mark Webber came away as the winner of the Grand Prix, ahead of rivals Fernando Alonso and Sebastian Vettel. Formula One are currently contracted to stage races at Silverstone until 2026, where then there will be negotiations into moving the British Grand Prix or leaving it where it is.

Race Track

Silverstone is located in part Northamptonshire and part Buckinghamshire. It has a, FIA Grading of 1 and hosts a number of different motoring sports such as MotoGP, Touring Cars etc. as well as the Formula one. Formula One will be staged at Silverstone up until 2026.

The whole site last year welcomed 120,000 on race day. This attraction did lead to traffic problems to and from, but the infrastructure is being looked at so there is no reduced capacity for the race weekend.

No shows booked at the moment.

from £


The first British Grand Prix was established in 1926 after interest in the sport increased. It was won by French team of Louis Wagner and Robert Senechal driving a Delage 155B. The second Grand Prix was staged a year later. The first and second Grand Prix’s were held at Brooklands race circuit. Between 1950 and 1977 the British Grand Prix was designated 5 times as the European Grand Prix of the Formula One season. This was back when the title of the European Grand Prix was given out as an honorary designation.

Silverstone has regularly hosted the race since the start of the Formula One championships. It was the first race of the first ever championship held. Between 1964 and 1986 it was alternate years with Brand Hatch and between 1955 and 1962 held between Aintree. Since 1987 though, Silverstone has held the Grand Prix and still does to this day. Silverstone used to be one of the fastest circuit in the world until it was redeveloped in 1991.

There have been 12 British drivers who have won the British Grand Prix. The first Englishman was Stirling Moss and first Scotsman was Alain Prost. Most recent are drivers such as Damon Hill, David Coulthard and Lewis Hamilton.

In 2008 it was announced that Donnington Parkhad secured a 10 year contract to host the British Grand Prix, however with the lack of fund raising, Formula One cancelled their contract and awarded Silverstone an extension of 17 years to their contract. In 2010, this saw the Grand Prix follow a different circuit configuration by using the ‘Arena’ layout.

Fatal error: Uncaught Error: Call to undefined function wpads() in /var/www/web28985227/html/gigasportUK/wp-content/themes/Exciter/single.php:108 Stack trace: #0 /var/www/web28985227/html/gigasportUK/wp-includes/template-loader.php(74): include() #1 /var/www/web28985227/html/gigasportUK/wp-blog-header.php(19): require_once('/var/www/web289...') #2 /var/www/web28985227/html/gigasportUK/index.php(17): require('/var/www/web289...') #3 {main} thrown in /var/www/web28985227/html/gigasportUK/wp-content/themes/Exciter/single.php on line 108