AC Milan – Matches and Tickets 2012/13

Dominic 06/03/2013 no comments »
AC Milan – Matches and Tickets 2012/13

AC Milan is one of the wealthiest and most successful teams in the world. The Rossoneri, owned by Silvio Berlusconi, have won the Serie A on 18 and the Champions League on 7 occasions. AC Milan is playing its home games at the famous San Siro, also known as the Stadio Giuseppe Meazza. The derby against local rival Inter is the “Derby della Madonnina” and one of the most followed derby’s in the world.


Manager Massimiliano Allegri led the team to a second place in the 2011/12 season – only 4 points behind Juventus Turin. However, the 2012/13 season is the beginning of a new era for AC Milan since a lot of veterans left the club such as Alessandro Nesta, Gennaro Gattuso, Filippo Inzaghi, Clarence Seedorf, Zlatan Ibrahimović and Antonio Cassano. However, the squad is still strong especially with new additions such as Bojan Krkić from A.S. Roma (on loan) and combative defensive midfielder Nigel de Jong from English champions Manchester City F.C. The main goal for this season is to win the league title and to finally beat Juventus. In the Champions League, the Rossoneri will face Anderlecht, Malaga and Zenit St. Petersburg in Group C. A group were AC Milan is clearly the favourite.

AC Milan plays their home games at the San Siro, the biggest stadium in Italy with a capacity of 80,000. The stadium is shared with rival Inter Milan. The “Derby della Madonnina” against Inter can be recommended to any football fan.

No shows booked at the moment.

from £


The club was founded in 1899 as a cricket and football club by two English men: Alfred Edwards and Herbert Kilpin. The first championships were won in 1901, 1906 and 1907. In 1908, there were internal disagreements about foreign players which led to the forming of Internationale aka Inter Milan. The first international title, however, was won in 1963 against Benfica in the European Cup and again in 1969. However, AC Milan faced a period of decline in the 80’s after a massice match fixing scandal in the Serie A and Serie B, known as “Totonero 1980.” Teams involved were AC Milan, Lazio, Perugia, Bologna, Avellino, Taranto and Palermo. Following the scandal, Milan was relegated in Serie B. Silvio Berlusconi acquired the club in 1986 and saved it from bankruptcy.

Berlusconi appointed Manager Sacchi and invested in players like Ruud Gullit, Marco van Basten and Frank Rijkaard. This was the beginning of one of the most successful era’s of the club, winning 8 Serie A titles, 1 Coppa Italia, 5 Supercoppa Italiana, 5 Champions League trophies, 5 UEFA Super Cups, 2 Intercontinental Cups and 1 FIFA Club World Cup. This team was one of the best teams of all time. However, AC was involved in the “Calciopoli” – a scandal in 2006, where five teams were accused of fixing matches by selecting favourable referees. Milan faced a 15 point deduction and missed the Champions League.

Fatal error: Uncaught Error: Call to undefined function wpads() in /var/www/web28985227/html/gigasportUK/wp-content/themes/Exciter/single.php:108 Stack trace: #0 /var/www/web28985227/html/gigasportUK/wp-includes/template-loader.php(74): include() #1 /var/www/web28985227/html/gigasportUK/wp-blog-header.php(19): require_once('/var/www/web289...') #2 /var/www/web28985227/html/gigasportUK/index.php(17): require('/var/www/web289...') #3 {main} thrown in /var/www/web28985227/html/gigasportUK/wp-content/themes/Exciter/single.php on line 108