Cristiano Ronaldo wins FIFA Ballon d’Or, but did he deserve it?

14/01/2014 no comments »
Cristiano Ronaldo wins FIFA Ballon d’Or, but did he deserve it?

14.01.2014 Cristiano Ronaldo secured the FIFA Ballon d’Or 2013 for the second time in his career and leaves Lionel Messi and Franck Ribery behind. However, is it right that Ronaldo won ahead of Ribery?

Ronaldo had a great season in 2013 scoring 69 goals in 59 matches for Real Madrid and he also helped Portugal secure their place in the World Cup. Ronaldo, who won the first trophy in 2008, said: “I have no words to describe this moment. Thanks to all of my team-mates at Real Madrid and the national team. Without all of their efforts this would not have been possible. I am very happy, it is very difficult to win this award…Everybody that has been involved with me on a personal level I have to thank. My partner, my friends, my son. It is a tremendously emotional moment.”

Ronaldo won with 1,365 points was voted 160 ahead of Barcelona forward Messi with Bayern Munich winger Franck Ribery third on 1,127. However, was it right that Ronaldo won the Ballon d’Or?

Ribery helped Bayern to an unprecedent treble of Champions League, Bundesliga and German Cup. He certainly doesn’t have the same status in the world of football as Messi or Ronaldo, but he certainly was the most influential player of 2013 and he had tremendous influence in Bayern’s success in 2013. Even UEFA president Michel Platini was stunned his compatriot missed out on the award and said: “I am disappointed because for 50 years the Ballon d’Or took into account results and trophies on the pitch. Here we are talking about the global value of players and that poses a problem.”

It was a sad fact of last night that no matter how good you play and how many trophies you win, noting is more important than your global reputation as well as the Nike’s and Adidas that throw millions of pounds after such world stars to create a global icon. Ribery deserved to win to Ballon d’Or – more than any other player.

Jupp Heynckes, former Bayern coach, was named coach of the year. Nadine Angerer was named Women’s Player of the Year for her part in Germany’s 2013 European Championship triumph. Silvia Neid, the coach of the German national side, was named the women’s coach of the year while the Fair Play award went to the Afghanistan football federation for their work in ‘opening up football to a wider audience’.

Goal of the year was awarded to Sweden’s Zlatan Ibrahimovic, for the sensational 40-yard bicycle kick he produced in the 4-2 friendly defeat of England in November 2012.

Fatal error: Uncaught Error: Call to undefined function wpads() in /var/www/web28985227/html/gigasportUK/wp-content/themes/Exciter/single.php:108 Stack trace: #0 /var/www/web28985227/html/gigasportUK/wp-includes/template-loader.php(74): include() #1 /var/www/web28985227/html/gigasportUK/wp-blog-header.php(19): require_once('/var/www/web289...') #2 /var/www/web28985227/html/gigasportUK/index.php(17): require('/var/www/web289...') #3 {main} thrown in /var/www/web28985227/html/gigasportUK/wp-content/themes/Exciter/single.php on line 108